The Best Honeymoon I’ve Ever Read

27 Jun

If there’s an award entitled ‘The best honeymoon ever written and captured by camera’, it probably goes to this magnificent couple’s:

Imagine that you have an opportunity, or better yet, one day you wake up in the morning and the first thing you had in your mind is that you’re stressed out with all the wedding preparation and stuffs, and then you promise to yourself that after the wedding, you’re gonna take a great vacation. The long one.  I mean.. really long. Not one or even two weeks honeymoon. But six… MONTHS!

How cool is that?

Actually, I have this dream about travelling around the world since… forever! And I’ve been wish that if someday I get the opportunity, it will be with someone I love. Like, my husband for instance. I find it scary to visit a new place with totally different cultures, alone. Moreover since I read about how judgmental someone in some place in the world could be to Stanger, and being an Asian and Muslim (as they said) doesn’t make it any better. It seems like there’s always been a place for prejudice for people like me. But we have to fight it, right?

Anyway…

I firstly knew Julia and Yuriy Manchik around November 2010, from greenweddingshoes.com in which we can see their beautiful wedding pictures. Then, I visited their Travel Blog and found out that they planned to go around the world for half year, immediately after their Wedding on 25 Sept 2011. I kept blogwalked there ever since.  In fact, I get addicted and visited the blog regularly. Along with Julia’s personal blog and their other social media.

Since they are Wedding photographers, the blog is full with not only glimpses of the local culture of some countries they’d visited, but also bunch of beautiful pictures. From Seattle to France to England to Croatia to Montenegro to Italy to Greece to Turkey to Austria to Hungary, to their second home Ukraine, to Hong Kong to Thailand to Singapore to Indonesia and Australia.. I bet, you visited the blog once, you’d be seduced to visit it again and again.

The 6 months had passed away, now they’re back to their hometown In Seattle, WA, USA. However, they keep posting notes and pictures of their 6 months honeymoon all over the world. So, if we’re lucky, we can find something new to read every week. I am personally waiting for the stories about Bali because I want to know how they think about one of Indonesia’s rich cultures and heritages. It is always exciting to find what foreigners think about us, isn’t it? Well.. It’s just me then.

The more exciting thing is that.. The Manchiks traveled in modest way. They didn’t do backpacking, but also didn’t stay in fancy hotel or spent money in luxury transportation mode. And.. for getting away for that long time, they just brought these:

WOWEE! C’est super!

Leave a Reply

